South Edgecombe Battle of the Books are county winners!

South Edgecombe Middle School wins ECPS Battle of the Books

South Edgecombe Middle School won first place in the 16th Annual Battle of the Books competition for the Edgecombe County Public Schools (ECPS) district held recently at W.A. Pattillo Middle School.

This event challenges students based on their detailed knowledge of more than two dozen books. Every team competed against other ECPS middle school teams in ten-question rounds, with points accumulating to determine the winner.

Members of the winning team were Brinkley Dew, Patrick Jones, Vadim Komshin, Fidel Ponce, Kailyn Randolph and Alex Whitley. They were coached by Lisa McElwee, South Edgecombe Middle School Media Coordinator.

The Tarboro Rotary Club provided trophies for the winning team, as well as medallions for all participants.

Teams from Martin Millennium Academy, Phillips Middle School, W.A. Pattillo Middle School and West Edgecombe Middle School also participated.

The South Edgecombe team will represent the county at the Regional Battle of the Books competition in Durham on March 24, 2017.